Betrayed.

Summer used to be my favorite time of year. Beach trips, outside games, sunbathing. Nowadays though, summer is the season I fear the most. I’m uncomfortable due to my body’s inability to regulate my temperature. My body temp usually runs high so any temperature rise makes me miserable. I’m forced to hide indoors thanks to photosensitivity. Long sun exposure makes me exhausted and causes a lupus flare. I’m allergic to bug bites and I’m convinced every mosquito nearby can find me. I feel betrayed by my own body. Lupus can steal our sense of self when we become someone else. What changes are you having trouble coping with?

If you’re still reading my blog post, first, thank you! Second, make sure you subscribe to find out when a new post is up.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started